This is not a rant. Everybody is of the same opinion that caddies should not physically line up their gamers before a shot. The trouble is that the language of Rule 10.2b(4) is simply too indistinct for all and sundry to agree on when the guideline has been broken.
The USGA made their first try at clarifying the guideline some weeks again on the Phoenix Open when Denny McCarthy was penalized for what few people saw as a violation. The penalty become rescinded and the language changed barely.
Before that exchange, you may have argued that if a player covered up to test his goal, then ran across the ball three instances before taking his stance and hitting the ball, he became still in violation of the rule of thumb.
But the brand new language, "starts taking a stance for the stroke," continues to be far too vague to be properly enforced. When has a player begun taking a stance? Is it whilst the participant starts his or her pre-shot recurring -- that's their instruction to make the shot, in the end -- or is it when the player without a doubt units their ft and begins their swing?
For instance, in the Adam Schenk penalty this beyond week at Honda I can see how you would possibly argue each methods. Adam didn't circulate far from the ball after his caddie moved away, so that you can argue that he had already taken his stance. But others could argue that Adam failed to without a doubt start taking his stance until he started operating his feet into the sand.
Does "begins taking a stance" imply that you are getting ready to swing the membership or simply that your toes are within the same region they may be whilst you ARE prepared to swing the club? Or even that they may be just in the same area they were before your caddie moved away, irrespective of whether or not you'll be standing in that equal role to virtually hit the ball or now not?
The language in Rule 10.2b(4) doesn't define the word one manner or the alternative. In fact, the explanation to the rule would not either. The explanation states that:
"The participant starts to take the stance for the stroke this is without a doubt made whilst she or he has at the least one foot in function for that stance."But as I said earlier, one could argue that Adam didn't really start taking his stance until he began working his feet into the sand, since he moved both feet from their original positions in order to work them into the sand.
As for "backing away from the stance" (that's the wording utilized in Rule 10.2b(four)), how plenty motion is needed to safely fulfill this requirement? Is it 36 inches, or 12 inches or perhaps just a couple? How a ways is far enough? How close is too close?
That's one source of bewilderment, this assumption that everyone defines terms and concepts inside the same way. Nations go to warfare for less!
But more than that, how do you decide 'purpose'? That seems to be the main factor of competition in the Schenk ruling. Because of in which the ball changed into and the quantity of noise, Adam's caddie had to be in which he become in order to talk about the shot. It seems pretty clean that his caddie had no idea that Adam become equipped to play and become therefore now not "deliberately" status in Adam's line. There changed into honestly no intent to line him up. By that definition, there have to had been no penalty.
In any case, the penalty may additionally have price Adam Schenk a danger to win.
So how can we resolve these inconsistencies and misunderstandings? How can we make the rule of thumb clear enough that the questions and disagreements disappear?
What Makes a Good Rule?
In a terrific rule, a recreation concept is absolutely described in an easy-to-look at manner. Let's use 'out-of-bounds' for instance.
Out-of-bounds is a idea. It manner the ball has left the field of play and the player has incurred a penalty. Knowing for sure whether a ball is out-of-bounds or no longer is vital to knowing whether a penalty has been incurred or now not.
In this case, the concept 'out-of-bounds' is really described through a boundary line marked off with bodily white stakes. The line is easily discovered by way of all and sundry -- on one facet of the stakes, the ball is in bounds; on the opposite, it isn't always. And the ball have to be COMPLETELY out-of-bounds; if the ball is on the road, then it's in-bounds.
In this situation, it is clean to decide whether or not there's a penalty or not. Anybody can see the line and recognize whether or not the ball is 'in' or 'out.' There is not any grey place.
Not a lot with Rule 10.2b(4). Who determines while the participant "begins taking a stance for the stroke"? The rule, as written, does not provide us any clear physical indicator that can be visible. Nor does it provide us a clear physical indicator of whilst a caddie is "deliberately" on the line of play.
Everybody appears to accept as true with the motive of the guideline. What I'm suggesting is that the guideline itself would not acknowledge that reason. If it did, the clear bodily signs essential to avoid penalty would be apparent.
So What Is the Purpose of This Rule?
In a unusual manner, for all the controversy regarding stances, Rule 10.2b(4) isn't always actually about when gamers take their stances at all. It's approximately WHY they take them. It's about caddies lining up a player's shot instead of the player lining up the shot. The stance is a secondary consideration due to the fact Rule 10.2b(1) says, in component, that:
"A participant can also have his or her line of play talked about by having his or her caddie or some other man or woman stand on or near the player?S line of play to show where it's far, however that person need to pass away earlier than the stroke is made."Presumably, the player is allowed to 'test' how this aim looks to him by taking a stance and practice strokes. So that's not a problem and Rule 10.2b(4) isn't intended to address it.
Since the caddie is already allowed to assist the participant line up a shot however is forbidden to stand "on or close to the participant's line of play" in the meanwhile when the stroke is made, the real problem is the caddie orienting the participant's frame at the remaining possible moment earlier than the shot is made.
In other words, Rule 10.2b(4) is meant to address a particular abuse of 10.2b(1) -- a caddie may help a player pick a line of play however may additionally NOT take an action to clearly align the player on that line.
Or, to put it any other manner, the caddie cannot assist the participant goal his or her stance.
It's a nice line between taking a stance based totally for your personal purpose and taking one based totally for your caddie's purpose. That's why Rule 10.2b(4) is so controversial -- it's almost impossible to put in force as written. Rule 10.2b(1) lets in your caddie that will help you pick a line, however (pardon the pun) while has your caddie crossed the road? Who determines "purpose" and who wins out when the player/caddie group and the officials disagree?
What we want is the equivalent of out-of-bounds stakes. We need a clear physical indicator that the participant is aligning his own stance, and no longer the caddie.
Rule 10.2b(1) already calls for one clear bodily indicator -- particularly, that the caddie to transport off the line before the participant makes a stroke. However, this is inadequate to prove that the participant is deciding on his personal line, and that is why we have to start tinkering with the participant's stance. Having the player change his stance after the caddie moves is the only manner we may be sure the player is doing the aiming.
But this whole "begins taking a stance for the stroke" rhetoric is useless. When a player begins taking their stance is irrelevant. What matters is that the player takes his or her stance after the caddie has moved, not before.
What we want is a clear bodily indicator that the participant's stance is his personal, now not one aimed by means of the caddie... And whilst the participant 'began' to take that stance is inappropriate so long as we are able to see that the participant's stance isn't the end result of the caddie status on his line to align his shot.
And it needs to be some thing the participant can do and that, by doing it, the player -- and every body watching, for that rely -- can KNOW, without doubt, that he hasn't violated Rule 10.2b(four).
My Suggestion for a Clear Physical Indicator
As I stated, Rule 10.2b(1) already calls for the caddie to move off the line earlier than the player makes the stroke. We just need a clear physical indicator that shows the player's stance wasn't set by way of the caddie.
I recommend that the player take 3 steps again from the road -- not along the line, but backing far from the line. Here's a diagram to show what I actually have in mind.

The participant takes three steps faraway from the aimline. (Obviously, they could start with either foot. And the 1/3 step doesn't ought to forestall regardless of the second step, however it desires to move at the least that a ways faraway from the aimline.) At this factor, the participant has clearly stepped away from the aimline, and the three steps are effortlessly considered by way of fellow gamers, lovers around the green and on any video photos the officials observe.
Why 3 steps and no longer simply two? Because if you just took steps, you can surely rock again-and-forth on the primary foot and basically take your authentic stance again. With three steps, both feet may have moved away.
Players say they are currently terrified that they will accidentally smash Rule 10.2b(4). With this clean physical indicator, that is now not a problem.
And if a player takes those steps and his caddie hasn't moved but, he just stands still and asks his caddie to move. It doesn't remember who actions first; so long as both player and caddie have stepped faraway from the line, the rule of thumb is not damaged. It would not even count whether the participant has 'began to take a stance' or not, something that means.
Rule 10.2b(four) handiest calls for that both player and caddie aren't concurrently engaged in any act that might be construed because the caddie aligning his player's stance. If each of them are far from the aimline on the equal time, after which the player actions returned in to make his shot, then Rule 10.2b(4) has no longer been breached.
One very last concept: I recognise that many of you may say that the cutting-edge phraseology of the rule of thumb calls for precisely what I described in the closing paragraph... However you'll be incorrect. Why? Because Rule 10.2b(four), as presently written, does now not outline truely while the player has "subsidized away" enough to satisfy the guideline, any extra than it defines how an awful lot foot motion is necessary to mention you modified your stance. (I referred to that in advance when discussing digging your toes into the sand.)
Best of all, we do away with 'reason' or 'deliberately' or any other subjective judgment from the rule of thumb. It's all proper there in the front people. All the player has to do is take three very visible steps returned from the road and live there until his or her caddie has moved off the road, then they can begin their ordinary or something with out breaking the rule of thumb. And there might be no question that they did it properly because those three steps are smooth to see.
So, Thomas Pagel, if you're listening, that's my thought on Rule 10.2b(4). I realize the USGA and R&A may want to use something different, and that's okay as long as you use clear physical indicators that we can clearly see. But I think this might be the clearest way to do it and, when you're talking about the Rules, 'clear' is definitely the way to go.
0 comments